Through the years...

History - 1964

Written on June 4, 2012

The year opened on a high note with a very fine first school at Paraparaumu. It is remembered mainly for the addresses on promotion and administration later published in booklet form; but the musicians too were splendidly catered for by Harry Brusey and Geoffrey De Lautour.

By now the Federation had outgrown its administrative structure, and when in April Ella Duddridge was appointed Hon Secretary, the opportunity was taken to spread the burden a little. Allan Wood became Hon Treasurer and Douglas Dyer took over the care and management of the library in Gisborne.

In October, the editorship of Spotlight moved to Wellington, Alan Bailey taking over from Max Stewart.

Regional meetings continued and a group of societies centred on Wellington undertook a joint venture with the building of Calamity Jane.

The newly-formed QE2 Arts Council demonstrated its confidence in the Federation not only by increasing the Federation's own grant for the year to $2,400 but also be contributing $2,000 to the Calamity Jane project.

In the south, a similar group scheme headed by Christchurch Operatic Society made steady progress in its formative stages.

Most important of all, the advent of Ella Duddridge to the secretariat was the beginning of a long period of stable, efficient and personable head office administration which was to prove one of the greatest assets of the amateur operatic movement.

President Hugh Duncan (Blenheim)
Vice Presidents Tim Blennerhassett (Wellington - North Island); Allan Wood (Invercargill - South Island)
Executive Les Clark (Oamaru); Douglas Dyer (Gisborne); Waric Slyfield (Dunedin); Donald Thompson (Masterton); Brian Clark (New Plymouth)
Hon Secretary Maureen Donaldson (until March) Ella Duddridge (from April)
Site Admin