Through the years...

History - 1971

Written on January 31, 2017

A reserve fund set aside by the Executive enabled the President to travel the country widely and he visited most of the South Island societies and many in the central North Island.

The Federation was grateful for the continued assistance from the QE11 Arts Council and acknowledged receipt of a $4,500 grant.

Regular meetings of the Standing Committee augmented two meetings of the full Executive and this procedure proved most beneficial in the continuation of the administration of the Federation.

The Federation subsidised operatic participants in the New Zealand Theatre Federation's school for Producers at Masterton. Reports of the School paid tribute to the splendid organisation and the patience of the tutors especially David Tinkham. Participants worked hard and their respective societies reaped the ultimate benefit.

Whangarei and Putaruru societies were the first to take advantage of the new Producer Subsidy Scheme and ran training schools conducted by the producers as required by the terms of the subsidy.

Under Donald Thompson's direction "Spotlight" continued to make a significant contribution to the Federation's affairs.

The Capital Assistance Fund, standing at $6,000 continued to expand and participation by societies was urged at the AGM.

The Executive examined ways and means of commissioning a musical suitable for performance by member societies generally and it was still hopeful that one could be produced.

Sovereign Woodworkers of Wanganui continued to sponsor the Programme Competition which proved popular and interesting, the reports from its judges each giving valuable commendations and criticisms for the information of future programme producers.

The imposition of a petrol tax benefited some societies as their local bodies used part of it to encourage artistic activity in their area.

The President urged societies to lobby their local bodies in respect of continuing moral and financial support in this field.

Executive - 1971

Patron Sir Arthur Harper, KCVO, CBE, JP
Vice Patrons Stanley Campbell, Eva Moore
President Jim McKenzie (Hamilton)
Immediate Past President Jack McSkimming (Palmerston North)
Vice Presidents Ralph Moore (North Island - Auckland); Murray Marshall (South Island - Christchurch)
Executive Jack Hancock (Tokoroa); Brian Jackson (Lower Hutt); Les Goatham (Dunedin)
Hon Secretary Ella Duddridge
Hon Treasurer Frank Terry
Member Societies 74
Site Admin