Through the years...

History - 1973

Written on January 31, 2017

During the year, Mr Marshall resigned from the Executive and as Librarian. Mr G A Blackler of Timaru was appointed to fill the casual vacancy on the Executive and Jack Hancock offered to act as Librarian, housing the library in Tokoroa.

At the beginning of the year, the Capital Assistance Fund stood at $7,701 and there was a steady demand for loans.

Some progress had been made in respect of the NZ musical but it had of necessity been slow. The Executive felt that proper time should be taken to ensure that the completed article would be one of the highest possible standard.

During the year the Producer Subsidy Scheme was abandoned and an endeavour was made to engender interest in regional classes. It was hoped Zone Councillors would promote these and Executive indicated it would offer support by way of finding suitable tutors and making funds available. As a direct response to past remits concerning rate relief for cultural organisations, the Standing Committee discussed this with the Minister of Internal Affairs who advised that there was already provision for this in legislation and societies should make representation to their local bodies. At the AGM a remit was moved by Methven Choral Society and seconded by Invercargill concerning the possibility of holding the meeting in various parts of the country to encourage more societies to send delegates.

This was one of the first of many remits over the years which has sought a more equitable distribution of the meeting to make the Federation more evenly visible over the country and spread the cost of sending delegates.

Executive - 1973

Patron Sir Arthur Harper, KCVO, CBE, JP
Vice Patrons Tim Blennerhasset, Stanley Campbell, Eva Moore, Donald Thompson MBE
President Jim McKenzie (Hamilton)
Immediate Past President Jack McSkimming (Palmerston North)
Vice President - North Island Ralph Moore (Zone One - Auckland)
Vice President - South Island Murray Marshall (Zone Four - Christchurch)
Executive - Zone Two Jack Hancock (Tokoroa)
Executive - Zone Three Brian Jackson (Lower Hutt)
Executive - Zone Five Jim Fenton (Invercargill)
Hon Secretary Ella Duddridge
Hon Treasurer Frank Terry
Member Societies 79
Site Admin