Through the years...

History - 1974

Written on January 31, 2017

The AGM was held in the South Island for the first time - Christchurch.

During the President's report, Jim McKenzie said "the operatic movement continues to flourish despite difficult economic times and member societies are to be congratulated on the standard and improvements they are achieving".

Also addressing the meeting, Dr W B Sutch, Chairman of the QE11 Arts Council said "New Zealand is tremendously well off with talented people and despite competition from radio, television and films, the performing arts in NZ continues to be very strong because of the considerable expertise in local amateur theatre the assistance required from the Council has been minimal.'

Appreciation was expressed to the QE11 Arts Council for making an additional $15,000 available for special projects. $5,000 of this was subsequently used to subsidise freight costs between member societies.

Mrs M Reid continued as Spotlight Editor and also undertook its business management. At a Zone meeting one speaker had said that Spotlight is soppy. The main criticism was the volume of newspaper reviews printed in the magazine - almost all of which were "raves". In reply the editor said it was her job to edit copy and not write it, and it was up to societies to send what they wanted to read. Spotlight will only be as good as you, the members, make it - she said.

Sponsorship of the programme competition this year was undertaken by the BNZ.

At the AGM, Mr Murray Mitchell, NZ Manager for J C Williamson, announced that the company would mark its centenary by presenting a trophy to the Federation to be competed for annually by its member societies. It was to be for "the best production" and would be judged by Williamsons, to whose production department he would make recommendations. Entries were to include a tape of part of the show, programme and promotional material.

Executive - 1974

Patron Sir Arthur Harper, KCVO, CBE, JP
Vice Patrons Tim Blennerhasset, Stanley Campbell, Eva Moore, Donald Thompson MBE
President Jim McKenzie (Hamilton)
Immediate Past President Jack McSkimming (Palmerston North)
Vice President - North Island Ralph Moore (Zone One - Auckland)
Vice President - South Island Jim Fenton (Zone Five - Invercargill)
Executive - Zone Two Jack Hancock (Tokoroa)
Executive - Zone Three Brian Jackson (Lower Hutt)
Executive - Zone Four G A Blackler (Timaru)
Hon Secretary Ella Duddridge
Hon Treasurer Frank Terry
Member Societies 80
Site Admin