Through the years...

History - 1977

Written on January 31, 2017

The President's Annual Report mentioned the very cordial relationship the Federation enjoyed with the Council for Recreation and Sport. Regular discussions has been held with the Chairman, Mr Lance Cross and staff to clarify policy situations.

It was noted in reports from societies, that despite economically difficult times, they were continuing to function, presenting a wide variety of entertainment. Many of them were trying new musicals whilst keeping alive their interest in the best of the older ones.

Although contributions to the Capital Assistance Fund were less than in previous years, many societies continued their support of the scheme faithfully. It continued to provide a source of low interest finance enabling societies to make purchases of capital equipment.

Entries for both the programme and JC Williamson Trophy competitions were fewer this year, but the awards were made as usual for high standard of entry.

The Freight Subsidy Scheme continued to work well enabling movement of equipment for shows so audiences could see major productions in their own centres and hiring societies could get some return on their investment.

Over 1,200 additional books were donated to the library by member societies, necessitating the addition of storage space. To date there was perusal material for 266 musical shows held in the library.

With a boost from Independent Newspapers Limited sponsorship, the second issue of Spotlight this year was a bumper 32 page edition of news, views, reviews, opinions, personalities and news of choirs, dance and orchestras. A good deal of effort was put into the promotion of the magazine but after consideration of the costs and returns, the Standing Committee decided to continue the publication of a 24 page Spotlight six times a year. A times since then, according to the amount of copy submitted, it has reverted to 16 or 20 pages.

Executive - 1977

Patron Sir Arthur Harper, KCVO, CBE, JP
Vice Patrons Tim Blennerhasset, Stanley Campbell, Eva Moore, Donald Thompson MBE
President Jim McKenzie (Hamilton)
Immediate Past President Jack McSkimming (Palmerston North)
Vice President - North Island Brian Jackson (Zone Three - Wellington)
Vice President - South Island Jim Fenton (Zone Five - Invercargill)
Executive - Zone One Sandra Sewell (Auckland)
Executive - Zone Two Stan Ransley (Tauranga)
Executive - Zone Four Keith Ercalano (Nelson)
Hon Secretary Ella Duddridge
Hon Treasurer Frank Terry
Member Societies 89
Site Admin