Through the years...

History - 1981

Written on January 31, 2017

Activities of the Federation continued in respect to the disbursement of freight and travel subsidies, the Manual of Administration was updated and Mrs Betty Dallas continued her research into the past ten years of the Federation with a view to its completion date.

A new lowest level of subscription ($30) was introduced for societies effectively in recess but who wished to continue their affiliation with the Federation.

The Capital Assistance Fund continued to effectively serve members and grew to over $37,500 with interest rates on loans from the fund continuing from 0-8% depending on how long the borrowing society had contributed to it.

The library recorded record activity with 2,180 book movements and it was recognised as a national asset.

The financial report delivered to the AGM indicated that the financial difficulties faced by the Federation, partly due to the loss on the production in Christchurch of Jesus Christ Superstar had largely been overcome thanks to societies responding to the one-off additional levy and the doubling of membership subscriptions.

A generous donation from Mr Donald Thompson was used to launch a fund for a Presidential Chain of Office.

An increase in subscribers to Spotlight had reduced the drain on administration funds. Editor John Barrett resigned on health grounds, and Mrs Linda Thompson was appointed. Support for the magazine was strong with Delegates to the AGM suggesting that suitably knowledgeable people should provide copy of technical interest and more advertising material should be sought.

As a further service to societies, Mr MacGibbon compiled and distributed a Hireage Schedule in which societies recorded what material they had for hire and to be updated from time to time.

A carved Kauri trophy was donated by the Bank of New South Wales to the Federation for presentation annually for the year's best programme. The trophy, called the Wales Bank Annual Programme Competition trophy was carved by N. Clark of Blenheim.

Executive - 1981

Patron Sir Arthur Harper, KCVO, CBE, JP
Vice Patrons Tim Blennerhasset, Stanley Campbell, Donald Thompson MBE, Mostyn Duddridge
President Brian Jackson (Wellington)
Immediate Past President Jim McKenzie OBE (Hamilton)
Vice President Jim Fenton (Invercargill)
Executive - Zone One Sandra Sewell (Auckland)
Executive - Zone Two Nola Speir (Tauranga)
Executive - Zone Three John MacGibbon (Dannevirke)
Executive - Zone Four Betty Dallas (Greymouth)
Executive - Zone Five Betty Bridgman (Alexandra)
Hon Secretary Ella Duddridge
Hon Treasurer Frank Terry, MBE
Member Societies 88
Site Admin