Through the years...

History - 1982

Written on January 31, 2017

Shortly after the AGM, the Federation mourned the loss of its esteemed Founder Patron, Sir Arthur Harper who died aged 83.

Sir Arthur has been under the employ of the Internal Affairs for 40 years, organising five Royal Tours in that time. He was knighted in 1959. He was Patron of several theatrical societies and was a keen sportsman.

At the AGM, the new Presidential Chain of Office was presented to Mr Jackson by Sir Arthur and suitably inscribed lapel badges were presented to all former Presidents.

Not being favoured with any funds towards the Freight Subsidy Scheme from the Council for Recreation and Sport, the scheme was jeopardised as the rising costs were too great for the Federation to meet.

Contact with the QE11 Arts Council by the Federation during the year was minimal, but societies were urged to keep regular liaison with their Community and Regional Arts Council.

Efforts to promote and provide training facilities on a national basis, particularly for master classes in the principal aspects of theatre progressed only slowly but two schools were assisted through the Federation and with financial help from the Southern Regional Arts Council in Timaru and Greymouth.

The Federation sought funds from the Lottery Board for a series of training schools during the year by Mr Alexander Bridge of England who has been recommended by Mr Campbell.

The Capital Assistance Fund maintained a very active lending programme and topped $40,000.

Concern was again expressed regarding the future of Spotlight despite the increased revenue from advertising decreased circulation.

Entries for the JC Williamson Trophy were small, and it was realised how difficult it was to make fair comparisons between well-prepared but often very different standards of entry between small and large societies. It was generally agreed that a change of specification was needed.

Executive - 1982

Patron Sir David Beattie, GCMG, GCVO, QC, Governor General
Vice Patrons Tim Blennerhasset, Stanley Campbell, Donald Thompson MBE, Mostyn Duddridge
President Brian Jackson (Wellington)
Immediate Past President Jim McKenzie OBE (Hamilton)
Vice President Jim Fenton (Invercargill)
Executive - Zone One Sandra Sewell (Auckland)
Executive - Zone Two Nola Speir (Tauranga)
Executive - Zone Three John MacGibbon (Dannevirke)
Executive - Zone Four Tony Flannagan (Greymouth)
Executive - Zone Five Betty Bridgman (Alexandra)
Hon Secretary Ella Duddridge
Hon Treasurer Frank Terry, MBE
Member Societies 86
Site Admin