Through the years...

History - 1984

Written on January 31, 2017

This year saw the retirement of three of the Federation's eminent people. Frank Terry the Foundation President had also acted as the Federation's Treasurer for 18 years. Mr Jim McKenzie's term as Immediate Past President ended after a total of 16 years on the Executive and Mrs Ella Duddridge relinquished the position of Secretary after 20 years service.

Extensive and affectionate tributes were made to all three at the AGM and Messrs Terry and McKenzie were made Vice Patrons.

Training within the movement received further attention in the consideration of a remit "that the Executive to be requested to actively promote a school for the training of directors". To this end, in part, the Executive began planning an extensive tour of the country by noted British director of musicals, Mr Alexander Bridge. It also began compiling a list of directors available for societies to employ for productions, training schools, seminars and workshops.

Consideration was also given at the AGM to the method of electing Zone Councilors in a remit advocating their election by societies in their own zone only, as frequently people had to vote for nominees they had very little knowledge of. The method was approved by the meeting.

A questionnaire sent to societies regarding the assessing of subscriptions to the Federation received a very poor response by societies, but the general consensus was that the current system of aligning it with gross annual takings (excluding restaurant charges) was approved with the addition of an upper level, that of $300 for societies whose gross takings were in excess of $20,000.

As a way of becoming more closely aligned with the NZATT the Federation became a Corporate Member and offered to pay the registration fee of one person per society to attend the NZATT training schools as well as encouraging individuals to join.

The library expanded considerably in this year, with the addition of 500 perusal scores and scripts from Chappells as well as their productions sets with the proviso that they be available to anyone on request.

The Capital Assistance Fund also reached a milestone topping $50,000.

Executive - 1984

Patron Sir David Beattie, GCMG, GCVO, QC, Governor General
Vice Patrons Tim Blennerhasset, Stanley Campbell, Donald Thompson MBE, Mostyn Duddridge, Jim McKenize OBE, Frank Terry MBE
President Jim Fenton (Invercargill)
Immediate Past President Brian Jackson (Wellington)
Vice President Nola Speir (Tauranga)
Executive - Zone One Sandra Sewell (Auckland)
Executive - Zone Two Ray Spence (Te Awamutu)
Executive - Zone Three John MacGibbon (Dannevirke)
Executive - Zone Four Tony Flannagan (Greymouth)
Executive - Zone Five Philip Lee (Invercargill)
Secretary/Treasurer Shona Brown
Member Societies 83
Site Admin