Through the years...

History - 1988

Written on February 1, 2017

The death of Stanley Campbell this year one of the Federation's esteemed Vice Patrons, was recorded with regret. For many years he took a vital interest in the performing arts and made frequent and wise contributions to the AGMs.

The name change from Secretary/Treasurer to Administrator reflected the changed nature of the job which now requires much wider communication and organisational skills especially at the upper levels e.g. the preparation of submissions to Government bodies.

The president's Annual Report recorded with pleasure that this Federation, in comparison with similar bodies of other arts pursuits, provides a very wide range of services to its member societies.

An increase in subscription rates brought in more funding and the new category of Associate Membership was entered by Joseph Weinberger of England and John Herber Ltd of Christchurch.

The Hillary Commission grant was increased to $20,000. This was targeted to specific projects and some will benefit societies by facilitating actions by the Federation's Executive to make it more accessible to, especially the more remote, societies.

More regular injections in to the Capital Assistance Fund by participating societies saw it increase to $94,000 with eleven societies currently enjoying loans.

Regular demand from societies and increasing demands by schools - sixty schools this year - continued to prove the worth of the library.

Acknowledgement was made at the Annual General Meeting in Rotorua, of the contribution by Desley Blanch of Alexandra who had supplied a number of synopses of shows which were missing from the library. More perusal copies were provided by Chappells. Some older shows, no longer in demand were culled from the shelves and housed elsewhere to make room for more volumes. A request to Tams Witmark for the library to be permitted to hold perusal copies of musicals they control, was declined.

Five issues of 'Spotlight' were again produced from a disappointing amount of copy provided by societies, though this was of a higher quality. The magazine is now despatched by Gallagher Mailing Services of Auckland.

A second School for Directors was held this year at Scots College, again directed by John Banas of Wellington. Attendance by several of our Executive members at Amateur Arts Assembly meetings has assured our Federation is well informed and making a worthwhile contribution to AAA deliberations and actions.

The survey of professional fees paid by sixty-four of our societies again provided some interesting statistics. A total of $98,414 was paid to directors ranging from $200 to $6,000. Fees to musical directors ranged from $20 to $1,200. Musicians were paid $77,723; set designers $11,972; stage crew $6,495; lighting designers $1,050; front of house staff $5,236 and artistic administrators $48,742. Miscellaneous fees added another $44,010 to the grand total of $322,000 a convincing figure which proves the extent to which amateur societies are supporting professionals.

Executive - 1988

Patron Frank Terry MBE
Vice Patrons Tim Blennerhasset, Donald Thompson MBE, Mostyn Duddridge, Jim McKenize OBE, Frank Terry MBE, Brian Jackson, Ella Duddridge
President Nola Speir (Tauranga)
Immediate Past President Jim Fenton (Invercargill)
Vice President John MacGibbon (Dannevirke)
Executive - Zone One Sandra Sewell (Auckland)
Executive - Zone Two Ray Spence (Te Awamutu)
Executive - Zone Three Donna Philpott (Wellington)
Executive - Zone Four Tony Flannagan (Greymouth)
Executive - Zone Five Gordon Bain (Invercargill)
Administrator Shona Brown
Member Societies 89
Site Admin