Through the years...

History - 1990

Written on February 1, 2017

Obituary: Federation members recorded with sadness the loss during the year of one of our vice Patrons, Donald Thompson.

Donald was elected to the Federation Executive in 1961 and served as President in 1967-68. In 1970 he was awarded the MBE in recognition of his services to the community and arts in particular. He will be remembered for his very willing contributions to the Federation and also his delightful whimsical sense of humour.

This year the Federation was pleased to congratulate Zone 3 Councillor Donna Philpott on her award of the QSM in the New Year's Honours list, and President Nola Speir on her 1990 Commission Commemorative Medal. Both these awards were in recognition of their services to musical theatre in their respective communities of Wellington and Tauranga.

Conference in 1990 was the 30th birthday celebration of the Federation and 153 delegates and observers from 45 societies were in attendance which was held in the new Park Royal Hotel in Wellington. A full compliment of our Patron and Vice Patrons attended to make it a particularly happy and sociable occasion.

Mr Peter Harcourt who was currently writing a book on New Zealand musical theatre was a most entertaining speaker at the formal dinner on the Saturday night. In response to requests, a seminar on promotion and sponsorship was held on the Friday afternoon and the attendance was such that it is intended to continue this practice.

The use of the library facilities, particularly by schools is increasing. An invitation from the Theatre Federation to join it in shifting the library facilities to Christchurch in the interests of continuing centralising was declined on the grounds that our Federation was trying to centralise all its operations in Wellington.

The administration of the Capital Assistance Fund was centralised this year under the management of the President, Vice President and Administrator. The fund this year stands at $125,000.

The Hillary Commission had a change of role to cover sport, fitness and leisure so the responsibility for funding recreational arts and crafts organisations is to be handed to the Queen Elizabeth II Arts Council. Considerable doubt is felt as to whether these groups will receive a fair share of support against the professionals as this has not been perceived to be the case in the past.

It was recorded that the role of Administrator included those of the Secretary and Treasurer with added management responsibilities for both Spotlight and the Capital Assistance Fund. This combined role is working most successfully.

Addendum: The Executive are most grateful for the continuing efforts of Edith MacGibbon in writing up the History of the Federation.

Executive - 1990

Patron Frank Terry MBE
Vice Patrons Tim Blennerhasset, Mostyn Duddridge, Jim McKenzie OBE, Frank Terry MBE, Ella Duddridge, Jack Hancock
President Nola Speir (Tauranga)
Vice President John MacGibbon (Dannevirke)
Executive - Zone One Sandra Sewell (Auckland)
Executive - Zone Two Ray Spence (Te Awamutu)
Executive - Zone Three Donna Philpott (Wellington)
Executive - Zone Four David Waters (Blenheim)
Executive - Zone Five Gordon Bain (Invercargill)
Administrator Shona Brown
Member Societies 83
Site Admin