Through the years...

History - 1993

Written on February 1, 2017

The most significant factor for Federation this year was the proposed legislation revamp of the Arts Council under whose umbrella the Federation's funds are found.

The Federation made a comprehensive written submission, later supported by an oral submission, to the parliamentary select committee emphasising the importance of the regional and community infrastructure to member societies and also seeking a much greater recognition of the recreational arts.

At the beginning of August, the Executive met in Sydney with members of Australian societies advising them of the advantages of such an organisation as the New Zealand Federation of Operatic Societies. It was thought desirable to have an Australian voice in matters regarding copyright. As a result of this meeting the Association of Community Theatre New South Wales was formed. Our Federation was pleased to receive support and advice from the QEII Arts Council for this meeting.

This year at the Annual Conference in Blenheim, the Federation honoured long-standing dedicated members with its first Merit Awards. These Awards recognise individuals within societies who have given outstanding support for at least 25 years in any capacity whether on-stage, back-stage or administration. Recipients were chosen from nominations by their respective societies. Special awards were also made to the Patron and Vice Patrons. These comprised a certificate and badge marked "Merit Award".

Five workshops were held in conjunction with the Annual Conference, a well supported and appreciated activity which resulted in full constructive discussion. They were on funding applications, Federation towards the year 2000, Spotlight, future musicals and the Capital Assistance Fund.

A report of the questionnaire conducted during 1992 was presented to conference. This showed that over $12,000,000 worth of assets were owned by the 60 per cent of the societies who responded.

At the Executive's "think tank" facilitated by Peter Meik of Invercargill, members spent a weekend living closely together in Taupo considering the leadership roles within the Federation, directions for the future and goals for the Federation. At a later meeting the Executive objectively analysed the results of their deliberations with special emphasis on a possible name change, the Manual of Administration, the Constitution and communications between Federation and societies.

SPOTLIGHT: This year Waikato University Print successfully tendered for the production of the magazine resulting in greatly reduced printing costs. Of concern however was the fact that despite its improved format with attractive colour and more varied and interesting copy, the publication is still not well supported by societies.

The funding base of the Capital Assistance Fund stood this year at $174,000 proving the great worth of this "self-help" project. Societies continue to appreciate the availability of funds at low interest rates for capital works.

The comprehensive library of musical scripts and scores continued to be in continual use by societies and schools. The library receives no subsidised support and although fees were kept at conservative levels they were still sufficient to allow several more volumes to be bound.

The re-introduction of the freight subsidy this year was welcomed by societies and the conference travel subsidy continued to be well utilised.

The programme competition with its two categories, multi and single page, again proved popular. The poster competition entries displayed higher standards of production with very good artwork and more attention to the details of copyright requirements. The showbill competition continued to receive lesser support, supposedly because of the greater amount of time and effort involved in collecting and collating the required material.

Executive - 1993

Patron Frank Terry MBE
Vice Patrons Tim Blennerhasset, Jim McKenzie OBE, Frank Terry MBE, Ella Duddridge, Jack Hancock, Jim Fenton
President Nola Speir (Tauranga)
Vice President John MacGibbon (Dannevirke)
Executive - Zone One Sandra Sewell (Auckland)
Executive - Zone Two Ray Spence (Te Awamutu)
Executive - Zone Three Donna Philpott, QSM (Wellington)
Executive - Zone Four Tony Flannagan (Greymouth)
Executive - Zone Five Gordon Bain (Invercargill)
Administrator Shona Spencer
Membership: Society: 82; Corporate: 11; Education: 48
Site Admin