Through the years...

History - 1996

Written on February 1, 2017

Creative NZ's criteria for funding still presents problems as Federation is still precluded from applying for "client" status which would see funding given for administration rather than specific projects. However, the $10,000.00 grant towards training was gratefully acknowledged, and directly resulted in a reasonable surplus of income over expenditure for the year's operations.

Subscription rates were held at the previous years level.

Conference in Whangarei on Saturday March 30 was attended by 120 Delegates and Observers from 37 Societies together with representatives from ACT (Australia). Three well attended seminars were held during the weekend, the topics including "Theatre and then Law", "Successful Society Administration" and "Musical Directors and their Expectations".

The Library continues to flourish with approximately 25 orders a month being processed and Warner Chappell continuing to send additional material. The housing of the Library at the Administrators home is proving most advantageous and cost effective.

Spotlight again suffered a fall in both circulation and advertising and the print run has been cut to 1200 per issue.

The Capital Assistance Fund reached the milestone of the $200,000.00 mark and continues to be well supported with contributions from 53 Societies. Twenty Societies are servicing loans, eight of which are interest free while five new loans were granted ranging from $5,000.00 to the newly agreed maximum of $20,000.00. Nine merit awards were presented.

A Residential Training School was held at St Peter's School (Cambridge) and was attended by 24 participants. Peter Tulloch from the University of Ballarat directed the school assisted by David Sidwell (Music) and Peter Edwards (Tauranga), Choreography.

The Travel Subsidy was used by 18 members but the Freight Subsidy had only one applicant.

Four full Executive Meetings were held; two at conference time in Whangarei, one at Taupo in May and one in Auckland in August. Standing Committee Meetings were held in Nelson in October and Wellington in January.

Mr John MacGibbon is the newly elected President of the Musical Theatre Federation.

Executive - 1996

Patron Frank Terry MBE
Vice Patrons Tim Blennerhasset, Jim McKenzie OBE, Frank Terry MBE, Ella Duddridge, Jack Hancock, Jim Fenton
President Nola Speir (Tauranga)
Vice President John MacGibbon (Dannevirke)
Executive - Zone One Sandra Sewell (Auckland)
Executive - Zone Two Ray Spence (Te Awamutu)
Executive - Zone Three Donna Philpott, QSM (Wellington)
Executive - Zone Four Tony Flannagan (Greymouth)
Executive - Zone Five Gordon Bain (Invercargill)
Administrator Shona Spencer
Membership: Society: 80; Corporate: 10; Education: 45; Associate: 5
Site Admin