Through the years...

History - 1997

Written on February 1, 2017

The 37th Conference was held at the Rutherford Hotel in Nelson on April 6 and was attended by 1 32 Delegates and Observers.

Tribute was paid to Vice Patron, Past Librarian and Zone Councillor Jack Hancock whose death occurred in July 1996.

As an innovation the conference was held in conjunction with that of the NZ Theatre Technicians Association and was opened by Dr Nick Smith. A choice of seminars involving both the technical and artistic aspects of theatre was held throughout the weekend.

The Library continues to flourish with 250 orders being processed bringing in a revenue of $7,000.00. Production sets, housed in Dannevirke have been in demand from both Societies and schools, all of whom received an up-dated catalogue in August. Support from Warner Chappell continues with the supply of both new and extra material.

Although Spotlight in no longer a financial burden on Federation funds, circulation figures continue to cause concern and consequently the number of issues has been reduced to four a year. Advertising from corporate members continues to be of support.

With funds in excess of $200,000.00 from 55 contributing societies, new loans to the value of $1 05,000.00 were extended to seven societies during the year, bringing the total number of loans to 28. This "self-held" fund continues to be one of the most important and successful services to Federation.

The major thrust in training was a Residential School for actors and directors held at St Peter's College in January. Led by Peter Tulloch (Ballarat University) together with tutors David Sidwell (music) and Peter Edwards (choreography) it was an outstanding success and Federation gratefully acknowledges the assistance from Creative New Zealand Through AON Insurance Brokers in New Plymouth.

A Public Liability Scheme has been introduced giving a total cover of $5 million at an extremely competitive rate. Fourteen societies have joined the scheme and investigation is continuing for further insurance possibilities for member societies.

A website has been established on the internet, offering information on the Library, a "What's on Where" page together with the opportunity for members to advertise for a six month period.

Twelve recipients received the Merit Award which continues to attract nominations. The three categories of the Programme competition and the Poster competition continues to be well supported but entries for the Showbill are disappointing.

Four full Executive Meetings were held, two at conference time, one in Wellington in June and in Hamilton in September. Three Standing Committee meetings were held in Wellington.

Executive - 1997

Patron Frank Terry MBE
Vice Patrons Tim Blennerhasset, Jim McKenzie OBE, Frank Terry MBE, Ella Duddridge, Jim Fenton
President John MacGibbon (Dannevirke)
Immediate Past President Nola Speir, QSM (Tauranga)
Vice President Kevin Murphy (New Plymouth)
Executive - Zone One Sandra Sewell (Auckland)
Executive - Zone Two Ray Spence (Te Awamutu)
Executive - Zone Three Donna Philpott, QSM (Wellington)
Executive - Zone Four Tony Flannagan (Greymouth)
Executive - Zone Five Gordon Bain (Invercargill)
Administrator Shona Spencer
Membership: Society: 81; Corporate: 13; Education: 68; Associate: 4
Site Admin