Through the years...

History - 1999

Written on February 1, 2017

The 39th Annual Conference was held in Ashburton at the Hotel Ashburton on Saturday 27 March. It was opened by the Rt Hon Jenny Shipley, Prime Minister of New Zealand.

Spotlight continues to be of some concern with the lack of support with both copy and sales. For Spotlight to survive both these issues must be resolved.

Library - the further introduction of new works continues to add to the strength of the library. Binding of perusal scripts and scores has continued throughout the year.

The Public Liability Insurance Scheme continues to benefit societies just as the Federation benefits from the commission on sales.

There were 10 Merit Awards given out at conference this year in recognition of individuals who have contributed at the highest level to our societies.

The fifth national training school for directors and performers was held at St Peter's School in Cambridge in January with Peter Tulloch (principal tutor); David Sidwell (music) and Peter Edwards (choreography). While it was disappointing that Creative NZ would not assist with the funding of this National Training School, it was felt that the school should continue and the Federation would cover the total costs less fees paid by the participants.

It was with some regret that the Executive accepted the resignation of Shona Spencer after 15 years as Administrator/Executive Officer. Whilst her resignation does not effect until the 40th AGM, the President acknowledged in his annual report, her long association with the Federation management and the support, friendship, expertise and energy she has brought to the role of Executive Officer. The President also welcomed Kate Ghent to the position of Executive Officer, she was appointed in December and officially takes over the role at the conclusion of the 40th annual conference.

Executive - 1999

Patron Frank Terry MBE
Vice Patrons Tim Blennerhasset, Jim McKenzie OBE, Frank Terry MBE, Ella Duddridge, Jim Fenton
President John MacGibbon (Dannevirke)
Immediate Past President Nola Speir, QSM (Tauranga)
Vice President Kevin Murphy (New Plymouth)
Executive - Zone One John Antony (North Shore)
Executive - Zone Two Ray Spence (Te Awamutu)
Executive - Zone Three Donna Philpott, QSM (Wellington)
Executive - Zone Four Tony Flannagan (Greymouth)
Executive - Zone Five Gordon Bain (Invercargill)
Administrator Shona Spencer
Membership: Society: 78; Corporate: 18; Education: 65; Associate: 5
Site Admin