Through the years...

History - 2000

Written on February 1, 2017

The 40th Annual Conference was held in Palmerston North and hosted by Abbey Musical Theatre - Palmerston North Operatic which also celebrated it's centenary.

Three new Vice Patrons were elected at conference: Sandy Sewell, Shona Spencer and Tony Flannagan.

Conference 2000 also saw a change in the Federation's Executive Officer. Shona Spencer retired after 16 years of service. At conference, the President thanked Shona for all the excellent work she did for the Federation and for the greater good of musical theatre in New Zealand. He also welcomed Kate Ghent as the new Executive Officer.

Spotlight continued under the editorship of Bronnie Neal. Much discussion on the future of Spotlight had taken place throughout the year and it was acknowledged that whilst the lack of support from societies in regard to content and circulation there was a general consensus that Spotlight should continue and the Federation should subsidise any shortfall that may occur.

After some five years of declining out applications, Creative NZ supported our training programme with a grant of $10,000. The money will be used to support weekend workshops throughout the zones.

The new Musical Theatre Federation website was completed and put on line with the new administrator taking over the role of web mistress.

As he retires, President John MacGibbon said in his annual report, that it is gratifying to see the Federation in such good heart. This is evidenced by the large number of member societies and the increasing number of corporate and education members. These members obviously appreciate the services and support offered by our Federation and the fellowship enjoyed by such membership.

Executive - 2000

Patron Frank Terry MBE
Vice Patrons Tim Blennerhasset, Jim McKenzie OBE, Frank Terry MBE, Ella Duddridge, Jim Fenton, Sandra Sewell, Shona Spencer, Nola Speir QSM, Tony Flannagan
President John MacGibbon (Dannevirke)
Vice President Kevin Murphy (New Plymouth)
Executive - Zone One John Antony (North Shore)
Executive - Zone Two Ray Spence (Te Awamutu)
Executive - Zone Three Donna Philpott, QSM (Wellington)
Executive - Zone Four Ross Benbow (Nelson)
Executive - Zone Five Gordon Bain (Invercargill)
Administrator Kate Ghent
Membership: Society: 76; Corporate: 19; Education: 72; Associate: 6
Site Admin