Through the years...

History - 2004

Written on February 1, 2017

Life Membership of Musical Theatre NZ was awarded to John MacGibbon for his service to MTNZ from 1980 when he first became Zone Three Councilor till 2002 - retiring from the Executive in the role of Immediate Past President.

12 merit awards were given out at conference this year, which was hosted most successfully by Napier Operatic, with over 200 people in attendance.

John Antony is the new President. There was an upstager at the AGM - a certain bull that had escaped from the wharf and was wandering around on the beach outside the AGM venue which caused hilarity until, unfortunately, he met with a sad demise!!

This year, subscriptions were raised due to rising costs. This was agreed to and passed at the AGM. One of our main goals this year has been to lift our profile to the general public. The President thinks we have gone a long way towards achieving this, beginning with the printing of our brochure, but we have to rely on our members, to get our message out there and make people aware of the great opportunities we offer.

Capital Assistance Fund - we only had two loans (totalling $40,000) being granted this year. These were to South Otago Theatrical Society and Greymouth Operatic Society. Five societies complete their loans this year.

MTNZ became members of ETNZ (Entertainment Technology NZ) last year as MTNZ are keen to promote the more technical side of the theatre business as well as on stage and foster a closer working relationship with ETNZ, especially in the areas of health and safety and training.

The third annual combined South Island meeting was held in Ashburton with good attendance from both Zones and corporate members.

Executive - 2004

Patron Nola Speir QSM
Life Members Tim Blennerhasset, Ella Duddridge, Jim Fenton QSO, Sandra Sewell, Shona Spencer, Nola Speir QSM, Tony Flannagan, John MacGibbon
President John Antony (North Shore)
Immediate Past President Kevin Murphy (New Plymouth)
Vice President Ian Reid (Napier)
Executive - Zone One Delwyn Smith (North Shore)
Executive - Zone Two Ray Spence (Te Awamutu)
Executive - Zone Three Donna Philpott, QSM (Wellington)
Executive - Zone Four Ross Benbow (Nelson)
Executive - Zone Five Margaret Pethick (Invercargill)
Administrator Kate Ghent
Membership: Society: 75; Corporate: 20; Education: 49; Associate: 6
Site Admin