Through the years...

History - 2006

Written on February 1, 2017

Obituary - It is with sadness we record the passing of Tony Flannagan - Life Member -on Friday 8th December.

Greymouth recently celebrated their 30 years of music hall theatre. Rosemarie Toal managed to show Tony the photos from the music hall celebrations which brought a smile to his face in his last hours. Tony was a stalwart for musical theatre, not only in Greymouth, where he was the stage manager for many years and he also appeared on stage - his most memorial role, a Priest in Superstar; but as Zone Four councillor from 1982 - 1990 then from 1992 - 1999 when ill health saw him retiring from his Executive duties. Tony last attended conference in 2004 in Napier.We all feel a tremendous debt of gratitude for Tony's contribution to musical theatre both at a community and Executive level, and he was made a Life Member of MTNZ in honour of his achievements for MTNZ.

Annual conference was held in Invercargill this was well attended with many making the southern trek and including a South Island holiday.

20 Merit Awards were given out with Life membership of MTNZ awarded to Kevin Murphy. Kevin's contribution both at national and community level in New Plymouth, has been outstanding. Nola Speir, presented Kevin with is award, which was met with a standing ovation. Kevin continues in his role of Financial Advisor to the current MTNZ Executive.

Another area that we have had to look at over the past year is the Charities Commission. A presentation was made at conference this year. The Charities Commission updates are also being linked from our website and all societies must register to continue to obtain charitable status. Registrations open 1 February 2007.

The safety of our younger members came to the fore mid year, culminating in the Executive re-examining our protocols. It was a timely reminder of the need for all societies to look into their safety regulations and make amendments were necessary. Conference 2007 will also be re examining all aspects of this issue and the Executive in consultation with societies, will be making available recommendations and guidelines to all members.

The MTNZ website has gone from strength to strength and had to be moved the MTNZ website to a 20MB host site as 10MB just wasn't big enough. New pages on the website this year include the MTNZ historical archive, a page devoted to DANZ, other events calendar, noticeboard for members and updates copyright holder and corporate directory pages as well. The pages with the most hits on the website include noticeboard, what's on, Kate's Korner, noticeboard and technology.

The MTNZ Achievement Award was introduced - the inaugural recipients were Brian Stewart, MATS Musicals - 21 years Callum J Jamieson, Taieri Musical Society - 12 years Jason Riggir, Whangarei Theatre Company - 10 years Helen Walker, Waipawa Musical and Dramatic Club - 10 years. It is hoped that all societies will take the opportunity to recognise their hard working members by forwarding nominations each year.

John Antony, President, in consultation with the grand rights' holders, sent a memorandum to all societies regarding the "dramatic context" copyright law. A number of societies and schools thought they were covered by the APRA licence and use costume, choreography, set and props in a revue or compilation show. There appeared to be a considerable amount of confusion about the dramatic context law and the Executive hope that all members are now well informed of what they can and cannot do with an APRA licence.

Two Executive meetings were held in 2006 - in Dunedin and in Auckland. Thank you to Dunedin Operatic and North Shore Music Theatre for hosting the Executive at their respective performances of Beauty and the Beast.

The combined South Island meeting was held in Christchurch in September. A consortium of four societies was formed to build CATS which was released this year by Origin Theatrical.

Executive - 2006

Patron Nola Speir QSM
Life Members Tim Blennerhasset, Ella Duddridge, Jim Fenton QSO, Sandra Sewell, Shona Spencer, Nola Speir QSM, Tony Flannagan, John MacGibbon, Kevin Murphy
President John Antony (North Shore)
Vice President Ian Reid (Napier)
Executive - Zone One Delwyn Smith (North Shore)
Executive - Zone Two Ray Spence (Te Awamutu)
Executive - Zone Three Donna Philpott, QSM (Wellington)
Executive - Zone Four Ross Benbow (Nelson)
Executive - Zone Five Margaret Pethick (Invercargill)
Administrator Kate Ghent
Membership: Society: 78; Corporate: 23; Education: 49; Associate: 10
Site Admin